au revoir, France!

Last night was a perfect storm of triggers for my migraines, and for the first time since being in Europe I let it get really bad. Poor Carson kept getting woken up in the middle of the night by my vomiting. For me, when the pain is too intense, I get severely nauseated. It’s worse when I move.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have much of a choice with the whole moving thing. We had to check out of the hotel by noon and then I had a ferry to catch. Five hours on a boat from Caen to Portsmouth. The hotel receptionist, an Englishman, told us that the ferry port was only 4 km away and it would be a 20 minute walk from there to the train station, so Carson accompanied me to the port. It became clear pretty quickly that this was not quite accurate. It was an amazingly long and expensive cab ride, and Carson had to turn around and take the same taxi right back to town.

My headache was subsiding and actually manageable by the time I got on the boat. The ferry was huge. It reminded me of a small version of the cruise ships my family went on in Alaska and New England. You could even reserve a cabin, although for a 5 hour ride that seemed a little excessive. I did, however, reserve a reclining chair. I slept off the rest of my headache there, emerged to the boat’s cafe and had a huge helping of mashed potatoes for lunch. My stomach was still a little unsettled so I was trying to take it easy.

EU entry/exit stamps include an icon of the type of travel. I now have a boat stamp in my passport, so that’s exciting.

Back in England, the trains were facing massive delays. There was a “trespassing incident” and trains were stopped for nearly an hour so that the person could be “removed from the line.” Of all the selfish ways to kill yourself! When I first got here in England, these too-common stories would make me really sad and a little freaked out. It just happens so often, though, that I’m now pretty desensitized. I feel bad about it, but that’s the way it is.

I made it home eventually. It feels good to be back, but I’ll miss Carson. I think we’re pretty good friends now, and I don’t know the last time I’ve laughed so much. He’s hilarious and he gets my sense of humor. He also makes an excellent travel companion. I believe that this is the last time that I will be returning to Brighton. I’m here for almost two weeks now, and then it’s off to new adventures…

here’s what the final trip to France looked like:

DSCN3512

DSCN3538

DSCN3554

DSCN3562

DSCN3566

DSCN3579

DSCN3580

IMG_0169

IMG_0179

One thought on “au revoir, France!

Leave a Reply

