Sleep Debt

Today, I successfully did not leave the house again. I didn’t accomplish much, but I think tomorrow I’ll start working on the paper I have to write. It’s not due for another months, but I think now is a good time. I don’t want it to interfere with my future travel plans, so it’s best to get it out of the way now while I’m home.

I made enough spaghetti for lunch to have fed my entire family of six. It’s hard to break that habit. I froze some of the leftovers (the rest are in the fridge) so I’ll still put it to good use. I’m rebuilding my stores of food. I haven’t been able to keep much in the house lately because I really haven’t been here. It feels good to eat in again. Having to go out for food all the time is one of the more tiring things about traveling, I think. It’s a great way to experience a culture, but it’s also expensive and it can start to feel like a chore.

I have never slept as much as this. It is a little embarrassing. Normally, I hate spending time indoors and not being productive… but right now, it still feels refreshing. Tomorrow I think I might start to ease back into it and get some things done around the house. Work on that paper. We’ll see what happens.

2 thoughts on “Sleep Debt

  1. You do what you’ve got to do. Rest and refresh. We Americans could stand to prioritize rest a little more than we do.

  2. I just got back from a whirlwind trip to Arizona and am exhausted. Cannot imagine how you go so hard. Ditto Tatie’s note!

Leave a Reply

