The Perks of a Beachtown

Surprisingly, no one seems to go to the beach on a Saturday night in the freezing cold.

I’d had a productive day at the house. I spent it cleaning my room and watching my flatmate smoke some pork. Alec was having friends over to watch the rugby game and eat homemade barbeque. Smoked meat with Jack Stack barbeque sauce… there was enough for me to join in, and it tasted just like home. It was a good day, but at the end of it, I decided that I needed to get out of the house. I hadn’t heard of much going on tonight from my university friends, so I decided to walk down to the sea. I hadn’t been there in the dark, yet. I don’t know if I’ve been on any beach late at night. I remember one night in Mexico my family got up in wee hours to go look for baby sea turtles…. and I stayed in bed. I regret that. Anyway, no sea turtles, but I’m making up for that now. It wasn’t really as cold as it’s seemed the past few days, but maybe that’s just because I was walking briskly. It was really nice when I arrived to have the whole shoreline to myself. The ocean is always amazing, but it just seems especially vast in the dark.

DSCN1339 DSCN1345 DSCN1349 DSCN1354

It wasn’t nearly as bright as my camera makes it look. I almost didn’t even try to take pictures, it was so black. I’m glad I did… I actually think those turned out really beautiful. I’m glad I went.

I was thinking today about everything I haven’t done yet. I’m pretty disappointed with myself so far. I’ve been in Europe for more than a month, but everything I’ve done so far could have been accomplished in one really good week.  Part of it has been that I’m adjusting to living in a new place, and that takes time. Part of it is money. But honestly, I wonder if I could have done more. I’ve known since day 1 that I won’t have the time nor means to do everything I want, so why have I been waiting?

With that in mind, I checked out the emails that RyanAir and CheapOAir have been sending me about their cheap, last-minute fares. I could get round trip tickets to NYC, Orlando, Hong Kong, Bangkok, or Dubai for around 400 GBP. (Oh, and by the way, the current exchange rate is 1.52 GBP to USD, which is way better than I’ve ever seen it.) More in my price range, though, were little places like Budapest, Amsterdam, and Istanbul. It was a really tough decision, but in the end I decided on Istanbul. The weather there is perfect right now. I’d rather go there before it gets to hot, and wait to go to Amsterdam and Budapest til they warm up.

So I bought a flight, and I leave after class next Wednesday. I’ll be returning on Monday. The weekend after that I’m going to Paris, and the weekend after that Kathleen will arrive. I’m about to kick some European/Asian buttocks.

Adventure is out there!

4 thoughts on “The Perks of a Beachtown

Leave a Reply

