TGIF

I was running a little late when I left the house this morning. The sun was out and the weather was gorgeous. It’s odd, but everything actually looks really different when it’s bright outside.

I had volunteered to help curate an exhibition for my school, a group show with painters, printmakers, and PAVA (performance and visual arts–or something). Today, we had set up a meeting with the students curating from other departments to discuss wall-space. It’s very political. So to get there on time, I grabbed a bus. It even turned out to be the correct bus!

DSCN1155

and a double-decker bus!

DSCN1154

it makes me feel powerful! and a little woozy

But I got off at the wrong stop. Still, I arrived on time! Only to be told that the meeting had been pushed back 15 minutes because everyone else was running late. The meeting went well. I think we’ll all have the space we need, and there wasn’t too much bloodshed in the process. After this, I headed up to the Friday seminar we have and finally met my painting professor. She seems interesting.

I was feeling pretty scattered at the end of all this. Planning the show is stressful, and in my rush to get out of the house I had forgotten my keys. I couldn’t focus in studio, so I decided I should enjoy the weather until my roommate expected to get home. I grabbed a croissant and some grapes from a grocery store, and walked down to the beach for a late lunch. I hadn’t actually been on the beach since the day it was snowing, when I first arrived. It’s much different on a clear, sunny day. The view is great.

DSCN1157 DSCN1174 DSCN1172 DSCN1169 DSCN1163 DSCN1160 DSCN1158

I walked a little further down the beach. I knew that most of Brighton’s beach destinations were between the two piers, but I had never seen the second one. Actually, I’d never really seen much of the seafront. Everything was closed due to snow last time, and the ocean wind was so cold that I cut my visit a little short. Today, however, was lovely. There are lots of little markets and galleries right on the beach. One painting gallery featured many paintings of chickens. I thought about getting one for my Dad, but decided it would be more economical to make one… and he’d appreciate that.

DSCN1183

DSCN1180

The second pier, “The West Pier,” was destroyed by several fires in 2003. There was an original movement to rebuild it, but it couldn’t get enough funding. The parts near enough to be beach to be hazardous were removed, but the main part of the pavilion has survived. It will probably only survive a few more years on its own before it is claimed by the elements, but until then it seems like it has become just as iconic as the still-standing pier. It was, before it collapsed, the better of the two. It had a theatre and a concert hall.

DSCN1185

I really love Brighton’s beach. It’s not crowded (at least, not in early February) and you never have to worry about getting sand in your shoes.

Brighton totally rocks!

Brighton totally rocks!

I walked home around 4:00. The days really are getting longer. I made it back before Alice, so I waited on the stoop. It was a beautiful day to have locked myself out of the house.

DSCN1187

I got enough wifi on the stoop to watch some Netflix in my iPad. I had just discovered that Season 3 of Downton Abbey is on Netflix, and was almost completely done with it. Season 3 is excellent. Netflix is so much better in England! It has Modern Family, Fawlty Towers, all of Downton Abbey, and a way better movie selection. So, you know. At least I can catch up on my shows while I’m here.

When I got into the house, I was in the mood for some popcorn. A staple in my family, I hadn’t had it since I left home. I am very excited to have finally acquired all the necessary materials.

DSCN1188

best of all: you can watch it pop!

DSCN1190 DSCN1189

I also had a lovely surprise waiting outside my bedroom door. These came today while I was out:

DSCN1191 DSCN1195

from my lovely boyfriend who was a little confused about the exact date of Valentine’s Day. He has more important things on his mind right now, like the army. Not only are they gorgeous, but these flowers smell amazing. My whole room smells fantastic every time I walk in, and I’m keeping them right on my computer desk. Alec and Alice didn’t have any vases, but I found a fabulously kitschy ceramic beer mug in the cupboard that is doing the trick. I stayed in tonight. It’s been really hard to be so sociable all the time. It’s nice to take a night off, once and a while. And I really miss my friends and family who I can just be myself around. I’m so excited for my baby sister to come visit me in March! She needs to get a plane ticket!!!

One thought on “TGIF

Leave a Reply

