Happy Pancake Day!

Busy day! I woke up and set off to find the post office. My shoes weren’t supposed to arrive until Saturday, so the curiosity was consuming. However, when I arrived to claim my package…

Shoe Fashionista? what ever could it be?

Shoe Fashionista? what ever could it be?

with no holes in the soles!

with no holes in the soles!

DSCN1103

I should be a shoe model

DSCN1099

and if that weren’t exciting enough, as soon as I got to school Bella came by to tell me I could move on into her old/my new studio! I was not sad to say goodbye to my tiny corner right inside the door…

FAREWELL, tiny temporary studio

FAREWELL, tiny temporary studio

And moved my few belongings into my brand new enormous space with my actual real classmates!

Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home

DSCN1109

I had run out of bread that morning so I wasn’t able to make myself a sack lunch. A few nights before, I’d walked past a cute tea shop near school. It was closed at the time, so I decided today would be a good day to go check it out. It’s called Mock Turtle, and I am so glad I found it. It has a very traditional menu at very affordable prices. It seems like a great place to try a whole assortment of English food. It’s also adorable and it has an amazing selection of cakes.

DSCN1117

DSCN1111 DSCN1110 DSCN1113

carrot and corriander

carrot and coriander

lemon cake

lemon cake

I walked around for the rest of the afternoon trying to find a coffee shop with a good view to sketch. It was more difficult than I expected, and it was really cold outside. I ended up stopping in at another place I’d had my eye on, just to warm up. It’s called Bread & Milk. It was nice for a cappuccino, but I think they really focus on fresh house-made food. I’ll give it another go later on. It was the first place I’d heard the Beatles since I’d arrived, which I like all the better for.

DSCN1120 DSCN1119

Now, as some of you may be aware, today is Mardi Gras. Fat Tuesday. This is the day before the beginning of the Catholic season of lent, characterized by sorrow and mourning. Before entering this season, it is customary to celebrate your joy and freedoms one last time through a full day of gluttony, outrageous costumes, partial nudity, and belligerent public drunkenness.

I learned that in England, today is known as Pancake Day. The day that everyone eats pancakes.

I love it here.

I guess the custom began so that people could clean out their cupboard and get rid of all their tempting food before entering into Lent.

Hannah, a girl in my studio who lives quite near me, had a little pancake celebration tonight. Pancakes here are more like crepes. They’re thin and have toppings and fillings, not maple syrup. So yeah, exactly like crepes. We had savory pancakes for dinner and sweet pancakes for dessert. They set up a little pancake bar in the living room. Everyone who came brought toppings, so there was quite a lot to choose from. We feasted! Once again, I am really loving the people here. I met a lot of new people tonight and everyone is so sweet and so funny. There also really does seem to be a little bit of a language barrier. Tonight, when we were talking about jeans, I mentioned that I don’t ever wear pants. I’m really more of a dress girl. But “pants” means something a little different here… so that was embarrassing.

DSCN1124 DSCN1131 DSCN1128

Today was another really good day. I finally picked up some canola oil, so popcorn will be in the works soon… I’m too stuffed from pancakes tonight.

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Pancake Day!

  1. Oh my… That was funny! The “pants” bit. Hey, you should have a popcorn party and tell everybody it’s native American food. It might even be true.

Leave a Reply

