Baby, it’s cold outside!

Brrrrrrr. It keeps getting colder and colder here in Brighton, which seems like a rip off. It was even snowing a bit this morning. At least the days are getting longer… it’s light almost til 5:00 now.

So this week, my school has been doing a bunch of stuff to promote students engaging with the school. Yesterday I filled out a survey, got a heart balloon, candy, and a sketchbook. The girl who hosted the pancake party last night has been working this event, which is basically just a table set up in the hallway. It’s up to the students working to grab passers-by and get them involved. I always try to be nice, but after hearing how rude some people have been to her I’ve been going out of my way to be really sweet to these kids. I take as much candy as they want me to have. It’s really the least I can do.

Today, a group of girls with the event were handing out Valentines. I accepted one when offered to me, hoping for more candy. I get back up to my studio and open it… and inside the card is a condom. What a disappointment! I strategically hid the condom in my neighbor’s studio and cut my losses. Hopefully they’re will be more candy tomorrow, or I’ll win the raffle for that free iPad.

After a brief art history lecture, I spend my afternoon in studio. I’m warming up to using watercolors again. It’s been a long time since I’ve painted. My work last semester was all drawing or photography based. I really want to paint pictures of Brighton since the experience of being here is so unique for me, but I don’t know where to begin with the weather so cold. This is a little piece based on Hampstead Heath.

DSCN1134

Also, I finished the British comedy series Teachers on Netflix, so I decided today to watch a few episodes of Modern Family. I had to stop, though, because I was laughing so much. I’m sure everyone around me thought I was insane.

DSCN1133

Cam and Mitch, telling the story of how they met. “Casablanca!”

There was also a meeting today for people who wanted to volunteer to hang the Second Year Show. Since I don’t have a piece actually in the show, I thought this would be a good chance to get involved anyway. I ended up moving over to the curating team, which I am actually much more excited about. It seems pretty disorganized at the moment, but I’m sure it will all come together in the next few weeks.

I think I’d like to get to bed early tonight. My mom suggested that maybe the adrenaline of being here is finally wearing off. I don’t know if it’s that or the cold, or the short days, but I have been so tired.

One thought on “Baby, it’s cold outside!

Leave a Reply

