Bangers and Mash

I swear this isn’t a food blog, but my dinner has been pretty exciting the past couple days. Today I finally had the oh-so-English experience of bangers & mash. And I made it myself! When I went to the butcher a few days ago, he kindly threw in a few sausages for me to try. I asked him how to cook them, and he told me to just put them in a pan with some vegetable oil and fry them for 20 minutes. I only had olive oil, but… olives are veggies, right?

DSCN0983

DSCN0985

DSCN0987

It was a pretty usual day at school today. I showed up and knitted for a while. I brought my own lunch this time, which was definitely an improvement. Not a lot of people seem to come in on Fridays. We second years were supposed to have some kind of seminar from 1:30 to 3:30, but it was cancelled. Hannah came round and asked me if I wanted to participate in a little informal student critique in the hallway, so of course I did. I don’t feel like I should really say no to anything while I’m here (as long as it’s not harmful) and get as much experience as possible. It was interesting to see the other student’s work, hear the kind of dialogue they have, and jump in with my own thoughts. KCAI has made me feel remarkably well equipped in every kind of coursework at Brighton, studio included. It’s nice to feel all that hard work paying off.

Afterwards, I went for tea at a place called Naked Tea in the Lanes. It’s a miracle I found it. I was meeting Andy, the man who (as a stranger) gave me a ride home the night I was terribly lost. It was kindof funny to see him again after that, but a very fun chat and a nice cup of earl grey tea. He went to London tonight to see the Cirque du Soleil. I’m more than a little jealous.

After going home and having my fabulously English dinner, some of my classmates invited me out. They actually went to a lot of trouble to do it. Without knowing my surname, one of them tracked me down on facebook and sent me a message. It was really nice, it makes me feel very welcome here. Everyone has been so wonderful and open. It seems like a much more open and inclusive community than I left behind at KCAI, where I hardly feel welcome even after 3 years. I did lose my way trying to get to the pub they’d told me, but I found them eventually. The first place we went was alright, it was a pub in a hostel that seemed like mostly just a place to meet up.

DSCN0989

The next place was a pub with a Nordic theme called Northern Lights. When I got home and related the story, my roommates approved of this one. It was neat, and it did feel strangely very… nordic. It was small and kinda cozy, kinda cold, and kind loud. It was decorated with strands of green lights.

DSCN1000

Rosie, Anna, and Bella

DSCN0998

Hannah and I!

Bella (top photo, right) is the girl going to Korea who’s studio space I’m taking over. She doesn’t speak any Korean, so she’s a much braver soul than I was coming here. I’m sad she’s leaving, we really got on tonight. After Northern Lights, she and I headed over to Mesmerist for dancing. Rosie had gone before us with her friends. This was definitely the coolest place I’d been yet in Brighton. We were only there for the last 30 minutes it was open, but I’d heard a bit about it so I at least wanted to see it. The music was awesome. Hit the Road Jack, These Boots are Made For Walkin, and Bear Necessities are just the ones I can name. It was a very cool place, very retro vibe, and very retro music… which leads to my very favorite kind of dancing. I’ll definitely be back sometime.

Hannah and Bella both live just about two blocks nearer to town than I do, so I had some good company for the walk back. I can’t believe that today is already Friday. It feels like Monday was only yesterday. The time is flying by here already. I’m beginning to realize I’m not going to be able to see and do everything that I want to while I’m here… but I’ll definitely be doing my best.

Oh, and nobody worry about my shoes. Within 5 minutes of my last blog post, I received a facebook message from my mother that a new pair were in the mail. Thanks Mom.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Bangers and Mash

  1. Anna, I am so enjoying your blog. Thank you so much for sharing your adventures with all of us! Sending lots of love, Grandma Prouty

Leave a Reply

