Farm

Today, I woke up and realized that I had completely run out of breakfast food. I was up pretty late last night and I wanted to stay close to home today, so I decided to just run out for a quick coffee and pastry, hit the grocery store, and come home. I went to the same cafe, Lucky 13, that I had visited earlier this week. They have a notice now that they’re hiring, but they want two years of barista experience that I don’t have. I’ll see if I can charm them, anyway.

DSCN0676

I demolished my breakfast at Lucky 13

After eating and chatting with the barista, I decided to venture out a bit further. I went back to the lanes and found my way around some new streets, and many very exciting vintage stores. Because it was a Saturday, most of the stores and restaurants had set up booths  or displays out onto the sidewalk and into the street. The weather was nicer today, too. There are quite a few vintage shops around that look lovely, and I did manage to snag a beautiful dress on sale for £10. I spent most of the day happily window shopping, and picked up some groceries (eggs and bread) as well. I’m on the look out for clotted cream. Shockingly, they didn’t have any at that particular store. I’ll try for that again tomorrow.

However, they did have this little gem that I know my Dad will just love:

DSCN0678

CHICKEN themed candy

I never thought I’d say this, but I might miss our backyard chickens just a little bit… all of the crazy antics they inspire, and definitely the constantly supply of fresh eggs.

I also ran across a street called Portland Street. My boyfriend, Matthew, has never been to Portland but is pretty enamored with it after watching the show Portlandia. For those who haven’t seen it, it’s on Netflix and is admittedly pretty funny. I think a few of the skits were made for my Mom, and her alone. Like this one:

So, Matthew has been wondering if Brighton is like the UK’s version of Portland. So far, there’s been some pretty good evidence to support this. I feel like finding Portland Street may have been a sign… no pun intended.

DSCN0679

On my way back, I decided to get some dinner. I passed a cute little place called Farm, and decided to check it out. One thing I’ve noticed in Brighton, and that I really like, is that everywhere seems to have fresh flowers on the table. No matter how small or casual it is, if it’s a restaurant or a coffee shop, this is across the board. I suppose with as little sunshine as they get, they have to brighten things up in other ways. The only exceptions so far have been places I’ve walked past like KFC, Pizza Hut, Starbucks, McDonald’s… you get the picture.

DSCN0686

flowers at Farm

Farm

Farm

I went with Shepherd’s Pie, minced lamb and mash. It seemed like a good British meal, as I haven’t quite worked my way up to kidney pie yet. My American friend, Jolie, has not given it a good review. I don’t know if I’ll ever be quite brave enough fro black pudding, either. But the shepherd’s pie was delicious!

Shepherd's Pie for dinner at Farm

Shepherd’s Pie for dinner at Farm (and my new travel-sized sketchbook)

I made it home not too late after sundown. It’s a little sad to come back to an empty house. My family is a lively group to live with, so a “quiet night in” here in England is much quieter than in Kansas City. I think adjusting to this will take some time.

2 thoughts on “Farm

Leave a Reply

